Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

MgMig1979 Avatar
MgMig1979 Mike E
Philadelphia, USA   USA
I'm currently working to get my 1979 MG Midget 1500 road-worthy. I was wondering what things on the car I should check or what repair/maintenance jobs are relatively easy on this car. I am a beginner, have pretty basic craftsman tools, and don't have the luxury of a lift. This has been a great experience thus far and i've ultimately enjoyed working on it. It would be nice to get it ready and into a car show.This forum, sprigetguru, and the UniversityMotors youtube videos have been a pretty good resource.

car has 40,886 miles and was sitting for many years (not sure how many). I know I'll need to flush just about all the fluids.

I've thrown a good deal of money into so far and have done some of the following:

* ELECTRICAL: everything works now except the buzzer system, the driver's side door light switch. went through every bullet point I could find, cleaned and greased them.
- New ballast resistor, new VB coil, new wires, distributor looked good, new battery, cleaned all grounds I could find

- The Alternator: this is original and I am not sure of its condition

* EXHAUST: new Stainless steel system from Falcon, new mounts from VB/Moss

*COOLING: Need to flush system, have new hoses for radiator and new VB radiator to install. New thermostat and new thermostat temp sender, rinsed the heater core out and fan works.

*BRAKING: New Master cylinder installed, pedal box cleaned, new kits for front and back brakes I am currently trying to install

* TRANSMISSION: fluid looked okay, no leaks in engine compartment. Not sure about the condition of the clutch.

* ENGINE: new cork value cover gasket , NOS oil press sender, new plugs. engine did turn over and car was running (ran it VERY very briefly). turned right over just about and no issues (this may not be true once I can really run it)