No pressure on Clutch pedal

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

scalco Ben S
Essex, essex, UK   GBR
Hello I'm new to this but I was wondering if anyone could help me out. I have an MG midget 1500 1977 that I inhertited from my grandad. I have just gone to get into the car but as I pressed on the clutch pedal there was no pressure. The clutch pedal comes back up but there is just no pressure when pushing down on it. I have checked the fluid levels and all topped up. I have done some research and I believe it could be the clutch master cylinder that is faulty. Does this sound correct or could it be something else? I have checked the lines coming from the master cylinder and I can't see any leaks as well. If anyone could help I would be very greatful. Thanks in advance.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
atm92484 Avatar
atm92484 Andrew M
Fort Worth, TX, USA   USA
Could be the master cylinder or slave cylinder. I'd start by seeing if bleeding helps.

I had similar symptoms on mine; ended up shotgunning it and replaced both since neither are particularly expensive and if I have to deal with bleeding I'd rather only deal with bleeding once (as it turned out it was the slave cylinder).

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2017-09-04 07:20 PM by atm92484.

yycmidget Avatar
yycmidget Dave B
Calgary, AB, Canada   CAN
What Andrew said.

My 79 Midget had the exact symptoms you described. Like Andrew, I replaced master, slave and the clutch line since the kit is relatively inexpensive. In my situation, it was also the slave that was bad. Fair warning, the bleeding can be very challenging, do some searching on the forums for tips and tricks.

-----------
Dave

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
scalco Ben S
Essex, essex, UK   GBR
okay thank you, ill give this a try fingers crossed it works spinning smiley sticking its tongue out