AutoShrine Sponsor

david.g.h Avatar
david.g.h David Harrison
Stratford upon Avon, UK   GBR
1929 Austin 7
1932 Austin 7 "Cabbage"
1956 MG Magnette ZA
1989 Porsche 944 S2
Sounds very similar to mine...Accuspark...Powerspark.......! Similar pricing as well

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
David8831 Avatar
David8831 David Halliday
Thame, Oxfordshire, UK   GBR
Probably the best of these Hall effect modules Is the Pertronix Ignitor. It is sold by several people in the U.K. and North America including Jeff Zorn’s Little British Car Company. It is also sold as the Aldon Ignitor by Aldon Engineering in the U.K. It is the only one recommended by the Distributor Doctor - the U.K. guru on Lucas distributors. I have been running one on my MGB GTV8 for a about 9 years with no problems at all. Any of them are very simple to fit.

The general advice is to be careful of the cheap Chinese distributors, the advance curves could be anything. If you have a distributor issue send it to someone like the Distributor Doctor (in the U.K.) or Jeff Schlemmer (in the USA) and he will set the advance curve to suit the characteristics of your engine. It may cost a little more but you will get a far, far better result.

V6B Michael Preston
Perth, WA, Australia   AUS
For what it's worth, I agree with changing your points to electronic by using the Pertronix Electronic Ignition System.
I don't need to run it in my B,as it has a stock electronic distributor.
However, I have used this system in a 1934 Chevrolet and a 1948 Chevrolet.
As a result of their success a friend used the Petronix system in his 1973 Alfa GTV.
All have been very successful and an instant clean running performance was noticed, improved idle, running and fuel saving.
I did the research on Google to find the correct set-up and then purchased it via ebay (was the cheapest option) as you can only use one particular system that suits your motor.
So why pay more for the same product.