AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

MikeVeh Avatar
MikeVeh Silver Member Michael Veh
Ottawa Hills, OH, USA   USA
1979 MG MGB "Lady Gwen"
First, I have to thank all of you who have shared your wit and wisdom on this site over the years. It was immensely helpful as I took on my weekend project.

A quick disclaimer -- I am NOT a mechanic. However, I grew up in the home of an uncle who was (he drag raced for several years) and he taught me enough to be comfortable taking pieces off my old VW Beetles and putting them back on. Still, that was years ago and this weekend I took on the biggest mechanical project I think I have ever done.

For reference, I have a 1979 MGB and I've been chasing an oil pressure issue for a while and, this winter, I decided that I would address several potential causes rather than trying to single out THE cause. I had already replaced the oil pressure release valve and spring which helped but still didn't completely fix the problem. In a recap for those who might not have seen prior posts about this -- I have decent pressure when starting but by the time the engine warms up, pressure at idle drops to almost nothing. After pouring over this forum looking for answers, I decided to tackle a bunch of different options. One additional point, I do not have an oil cooler installed.

First on the list was dropping the oil pan which is as much a PITA as most of you have suggested. However, I do have to thank the person who posted a suggestion to remove the cardboard mud shield (which was partially broken away already). That made it possible to put the front bolts back in much easier than it was to get them out. Of course, now I need to replace the mud shield but it needed to be replaced anyway.