AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Spin-On Oil Filter Conversion
  This topic is about my 1951 MG TD
c.allen7500 Avatar
c.allen7500 Charles Allen
Huntsville, AL, USA   USA
1951 MG TD
Bought the TD at an auction and would like to convert the oil filter so it's easier for me to do oil changes myself. Problem is I can't decide which conversion kit I need. The engine serial number on the plate indicates I should get the one for early model TDs (which mine is), but the pictures on installation instructions for the newer version (14224 and up) look exactly like what's in the car now. Restoration was done several years ago so perhaps they put in a later model engine at that time?? I'm no mechanic, but I think I could handle the conversion if I can figure out the right kit!

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
jimmac48 Matthew M
Columbus, GA, USA   USA
1950 MG TD
Charles the early tds had verticality mounted oil filter while the later (after engine No. 14224) had horizontally mounted oil filters. Verify your engine number by checking the brass tag on the right side of the block. FWIW I have the early style and purchased my adapter from Roland Taras. The installation was easy.

c.allen7500 Avatar
1951 MG TD
Thanks for the quick response. The engine number on the plate indicates it should be the earlier (vertical) version, but it's definitely horizontal so I guess something happened during the restoration. I really needed someone to confirm for me what SEEMED to be obvious so really appreciate it.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Declan Burns Avatar
Duesseldorf, NRW, Germany   DEU
Charles,
It might be advisable to post up a few photos just to be sure and on the safe side. You will be well advised on here.
Regards
Declan

jimmac48 Matthew M
Columbus, GA, USA   USA
1950 MG TD