Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

copernicus Avatar
copernicus Nick Kopernik
Snowless Winter, CT, USA   USA
I'm looking a 72' Lotus +2 which a neighbor is thinking of selling. It was parked about 20 years ago and has been sitting ever since. Other that the usual rot spots and fiberglass issues, is there anything else specific about Lotus Elans which I should pay attention to?

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Speedracer Avatar
Speedracer Platinum Member Hap Waldrop
Greenville, SC, USA   USA
1967 MG MGB Racecar "The Biscuit"
I'm no expert by any means, but heard and read about folks restoring this, often enough they are like old Vettes, you need to re gelcoat the entire body. Parts, both engine and chassis are way more expensive and harder to find, but they are out there. As you know they are very small cars, even smaller than a Spridget, so not a good car for a bigger guy. Looks like a good Elan roadster/coupe in good, in good to restored condition can be a 50K+ piece. They are pocket rocket, most have the ford-Lotus DOHC 1600 4 cylinder, in racing trim they can get over 200HP out of those engine, street or race fiquire X3 what you can build a MGB engine for. I race with a good many English Fords and Lotus guys. A street 2+2 probably only weight 1500 pounds so killer power to weight ratio, I think the roadster weigh only 1300 pounds.

Here's anear perfect low miles coupe that they want $62K for. https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/dealer/lotus/elan/2074926.html

One thing for sure, these cars will only become more expensive.

Hap Waldrop
Acme Speed Shop
864-370-3000
hapwaldrop@acmespeedshop.com

Member Services:
MG/ Triumph Performance Street/Race Engines - Cylinder Head Porting - Modified SU HS Carbs - DIY Engine Rebuild Kits With Free Tech Advice - VTO alloy wheels for British Sport Cars, and others
copernicus Avatar
copernicus Nick Kopernik