Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Scirocco333 Avatar
Scirocco333 Ryan Kramer
Trussville, AL, USA   USA
I’m new to owning one of these and don’t understand when the radiator fan should be on. Everything I’ve owned has has a switch that fires the fan up when activated. My Midget’s fan comes on when the car starts and never goes off. I’ve taken it on several 10-15 minute hops in 50 degree weather recently, and the gauge (new) doesn’t get to the low end of normal. The thermostat is 195, and coolant was mixed carefully with the level up to the top. I’ve yet to find a site that explains when the fan should operate. Should I count my blessings, b/c it seems everyone else has overheating problems? I have an infrared temp sensor, would that help?

. Hide this ad & support a small business by becoming a Gold Supporting Member
Was this post helpful or interesting?
Yes No Thank
refisk Avatar
refisk Rick Fisk
Frankenmuth, MI, USA   USA
The fan on your car is not electric, it turns all the time. Running cool is a good thing. smiling smiley

In reply to # 3904254 by Scirocco333 I’m new to owning one of these and don’t understand when the radiator fan should be on. Everything I’ve owned has has a switch that fires the fan up when activated. My Midget’s fan comes on when the car starts and never goes off. I’ve taken it on several 10-15 minute hops in 50 degree weather recently, and the gauge (new) doesn’t get to the low end of normal. The thermostat is 195, and coolant was mixed carefully with the level up to the top. I’ve yet to find a site that explains when the fan should operate. Should I count my blessings, b/c it seems everyone else has overheating problems? I have an infrared temp sensor, would that help?

+1 Yes No Thank
  Scirocco333 thanked refisk for this post
76lucas Avatar
76lucas Gold Member Josh L
Floyd, VA, USA   USA
1978 MG Midget 1500
1979 MG Midget 1500 "Blue "parts" Car"
1999 Subaru Legacy "Daily Driver"