AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Colin C Avatar
Colin C Colin C.
Elkton, MD, USA   USA
Hello Everyone,
I have been reading this thread a lot lately and I have got to say there is a wealth of knowledge here and that is why I need your help. Since you guys are the experts I was hoping to tell you what I want out of a conversion and get your input in what best fits my needs.
I am looking for these things in a conversion
1. Around 150 to 250 HP possible more
2 Decent gas mileage
3 I have around 5,000 to do the bulk of the conversion (Motor, trans, conversion kit)
4 Easily attainable parts
5 Automatic would be ideal (Just retired from army and 20 yrs of abuse to back and knees means automatic driven lots stick occasionally with a handful of Ibuprofen)
6 Least amount of modifications
I realize not all this is most likely possible but it is a wish list. I've been a mechanic for about 30yrs, 10 before and 20 with the Army. It will be going in a 79 MGB. Also I have an 8.8 posi, disc brake rear end out of an 87 tbird and would like to use that if possible.
Any and all help would be appreciated.
Thank you all for your time and input

Colin C.

. Hide this ad & support a small business by becoming a Gold Supporting Member
Was this post helpful or interesting?
Yes No Thank
Dwightt576 Dwight Taylor
02538, USA   USA
For your power goals, reliability, and ease of finding parts. The exact setup I want to do is NA K20/24 Honda engine mated up to a 6spd Miata transmission. Pretty sure they also offer an auto. with the right combo of oem Honda parts you should get close to 250. KMiata already makes an adapter plate and flywheel to mate the two together. As far as it coming to taking measurements etc for the swap, I have no idea, but I'd think it should fit.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2019-02-28 01:37 AM by Dwightt576.

Yes No Thank
billymgb1000 Avatar
billymgb1000 Silver Member william gaulin
harrisville, harrisville RI, USA   USA