Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

NOHOME P P
O, ON, Canada   CAN
1967 MG MGB GT "Maggie (GT From Hell)"
As an engineer, I have a lot of appreciation for the amount of design and test effort that goes into every single component of a mass produced car. Where years ago, I would have dismissed this effort and assumed I can always do a better job, I no longer jump to that conclusion.

So I was wondering if anyone has looked at using the stock ford 302 mounts when mounting their drive train? The idea would be to have a car with vibration and harshness similar to a factory install. Are they just too big or just too ugly for a hot rod?

. Hide this ad & support a small business by becoming a Gold Supporting Member
Was this post helpful or interesting?
Yes No Thank
1744 Avatar
1744 Gold Member Bill Guzman
CA, USA   USA
1973 MG MGB GT "Renegade I GT"
1974 MG MGB "Renegade"
Peter, I am in the last steps of the final design of the bolt on Ford V8 motor mounts for the MGB.
This mounts will be adjustable and bolt on, but could also be welded.

I will include a trans cross member. No headers.

The new mounts should be ready in the next 2 weeks, that is the goal. Mounts will be powder coated.
This mounts will not sag.

To answer your question.

The original Ford mount is big and with the small margin of space and clearances they do required some shimming in the future.

It is our attitude that will determine the outcome

Member Services:
MG Classic Conversions V6. Wilwood brake dealer.
Yes No Thank
ex-tyke Avatar
ex-tyke Graham Creswick
Chatham, ON, Canada   CAN
1976 MG MGB
Peter, I support your logic of using OEM designed parts wherever possible. Having worked for a truck OEM for many years, I can attest to the fact that all critical component designs are subjected to some kind of testing or FEA analysis.