1950 mgtd barn find

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

sebs1 Martin Buckingham
Caddington, beds, UK   GBR
im tryng my best to find out anything about this car, nick the andrex bracket has bill welded after the chassis bracket, just the same as the one in bills photo , nick and bill thank you so much for you input its been valuable and i will keep you updated if i find out anymore,cheers martin

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Supporting Member <
Sam Suffi Malcolm McConnachy
Littlehampton, West Sussex, UK   GBR
Good evening everyone, I've just joined the Forum today.

My name is Malcolm I'm a retired Chartered Engineer living in Littlehampton on the South Coast of England.
I've been restoring motorcycles most of my life, but as one gets older 4 wheels become more appealing.

The reason I'm resurrecting this thread is that I am now the proud owner of NUB 560. I recently acquired it from Martin, I don't think he'll mind me saying that the car is going to need a lot of time to get it back into shape, time which Martin does not have due to his business commitments.

I'd also like to echo Martin's thanks for all the advice/information that members have contributed to the thread.

I'm new to MG's (apart from having an MGA for a few years in the 70's) so I apologise in advance for any erroneous comments I may make.

I've been working on the car for a couple of weeks now,mainly removing redundant electrical equipment, wiring, floor panels, etc.

Yesterday, I removed the carburetors for overhaul and found some more information which may help identifying the car, the carburetors are 1-1/4 inch, but the inlet manifold (on the block) is 1-1/2 inch, the carburetor inlet manifold is 1-3/8 inch. Would a normal TD have the 1-1/2 inch manifold? Why would anyone remove the 1-1/2 inch carbs to fit the smaller ones?