Studs in floor panel

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

rockmidget Peter Rock
Wausau, WI, USA   USA
I am doing some floor panel replacement on a '59 BE. Two opinions being sought by all the experts out there:
1: What are the two studs shown on this picture used for, located next to bottom spring plates.
2: I have the car in a rotisserie, bottom is easily accessible. I am drilling out spot welds on drivers side floor panel. Only the foot well area is bad, plus some of the outer panel near the back, around where I have shown on the picture. I am a decent welder (MIG). I have available to use, replacement floor panels from newer sprite. They are new, came with some parts in a deal. The front section looks like it is an exact match. If I use the back section, it has some large access holes, maybe different cut outs for spring box? Should I just order new BE panel, or should I modify the ones I have to fit. Budget is a little bit of an issue, hate to buy something very similar to something I already have.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 2017-11-22 09:21 AM by rockmidget.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
bottom plate.JPG    55.9 KB
bottom plate.JPG

200mph Avatar
200mph Platinum Member Mike Joy
Winston-Salem, NC, USA   USA
Peter,

IIRC, Instead of a "spring box", later Spridgets used a thick steel plate to mount the front eye of the 1/2 elliptic leaf spring to the floor pan.

If your panel is the same except for those holes, the simplest thing to do would be to just fill the extra holes in.

"Have you ever thought... Everyone driving slower than your MG is a MORON, everyone driving faster must be a FREAKING IDIOT!". . . George Carlin

rockmidget Peter Rock
Wausau, WI, USA   USA
That's what I was thinking also. What are the studs for, don't think the new panels have them?

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <