AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Midget 1500 Clutch Hose
  This topic is about my 1979 MG Midget 1500
GChiasson Avatar
GChiasson Gary C
Nashville, TN, USA   USA
I'm a relatively new owner of a '79 Midget 1500, and I'm NOT a mechanic. I thought it would be a good car to learn on - all mechanical, no antilock brakes, no computers, etc. I may have bitten off more than I can chew.

Shortly after purchasing the car, the clutch went out. The problem seems to be in the hydraulics; I felt the play in the pedal weakening until I could no longer change gears. So I bought the whole kit including master and slave cylinders and hose from Moss. The hose from Moss has a "J" shaped fitting on each end. The hose that is currently installed has a number of fittings on it.

It seems like a simple question, but should I remove the existing hose where it connects at each cylinder (just connect the "J" fittings), or do I need the multiple fittings pictured (the picture was taken looking down at where the hose exits the clutch master cylinder)? I can't find any pictures or drawings of these fittings in any forum or manuals, and the Moss kit said it came with everything I would need to change out the clutch hydraulics.

Also, any clues on how to pass the "J" fitting for the slave through the grommet in the engine bay would be appreciated.

Thanks,

G

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Supporting Member <

Attachments:
Midget Clutch Hose.JPG    41.7 KB
Midget Clutch Hose.JPG

Colonel musturd 79 Avatar
Colonel musturd 79 Michael McKinney
Winchester, Virginia, USA   USA
1978 MG Midget 1500 "Colonel Mustard"
1987 Pontiac Fiero "SILVER BULLET"
What you have on your car is a very poor case of re engineering, use your new parts with confidence.

Amore della Strada
For the love of the road

refisk Avatar
refisk Rick Fisk
Frankenmuth, Michigan, USA   USA
Gary,