Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

jimbenedict Avatar
jimbenedict Silver Member Jim Benedict
Waterford, MI, USA   USA
I will go first. It was around 1975 and found a 1950s Ferrari Super Fast convertible peaking out of a garage far into the country- Metamora, MI. The car was not ran for years and showed 40K miles. Owner was an old widowed woman. I did not follow up on the car. Probably could not afford it anyways, but I was a well paid tech at Chrysler world headquarters.

The car was actually written up in an article some 20 years later. The president of Pan-Am searched records at the Ferrari factory & found the car. He flew to Metamora, MI and bought the car. Seeing only a few were built it was valued at $10M.

The woman was in Switzerland at a car show in the 1950s & saw the Ferrari. She wanted to buy it on the spot, but the car was sold to another person. So, although already a special production car not normally built in a convertible, Ferrari built one for her.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2017-05-09 08:27 AM by jimbenedict.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
AN5L8016 Avatar
AN5L8016 Mark Haynes
Nederland, Colorado, USA   USA
1982- Ferrari prices were in the toilet, I came across a 365 GTB/4, owner wanted a paltry $5500 for it. I was working as an assembler at the time-$8/hr (good pay for no college diploma), had to pass and buy a SAAB 99 for $1200 so I could still feed myself. Pah! it would only be worth ~$1M now.

'58 Bugeye
'05 Mini Cooper S

S1 Elan Kurt. Appley
Akron, Ia., USA   USA