AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

idahoastan Avatar
idahoastan Greg Lewis
Hayden, Idaho, USA   USA
1976 MG Midget MkIV "DAYZ"
So after looking all over, it appears the only way to replace the missing heatshield to prevent vapor lock, is to fabricate one!
Is this a true statement? I cant find an oem anywhere. Is there a third party unit out there being made?

thanks in advance

cheers

1976 MG Midget

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
dirtygmc Sean Gallagher
Moodus, CT, USA   USA
I'm in the same boat. I've found some on eBay but mount to the exhaust manifold I believe.i don't believe anyone makes a new one,94 at least from what I've seen. (I'm new to the MG life though)

At our metal shop today I drew up a piece on CAD to mount between the carb and airbox, but after building it and test fitting I was a bit off and need to shorten a couple dimensions. I'll post a picture of it when I get time to modify and rebuild it, hopefully by the end of the week. It'll be a simple shield out of 6061 .090" sheet.

idahoastan Avatar
idahoastan Greg Lewis
Hayden, Idaho, USA   USA
Thanks shawn that would be great. !!

idahoastan

1976 MG Midget

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Crystal RX 350 Avatar
Seattle, WA, USA   USA
Does this heat shield apply to 76 model only? mine is 1975 with ZS 150 CD and it doesn't have the heat shield.

Mike

75' MG Midget
78' MG Midget

idahoastan Avatar
idahoastan Greg Lewis
Hayden, Idaho, USA   USA
Mike...I'm no expert by far but if you have vapor lock issues I would guess you need one too.

Greg

1976 MG Midget

marksmidget Avatar
marksmidget mark tharp
Hammond, indiana, USA   USA