Welcome! Sign In Register
Please Sign In or Register to Search

Sill Removal

Posted by jcraven 
jcraven Avatar
James Craven
Connecticut, USA   usa
1973 MG Midget "Molly"

Hi, total newbie to restoration projects but have a '73 midget I love. Car was very neglected and will need new floor, sills, and more (see my journal under jcraven.

How do you get the old sills, or what is left of them out. Chip away, cut away?
Any help is appreciated

Jim
. You can hide this ad & support this site by upgrading to a Gold Membership ~ click here for more info
Bob Seibert
Bullhead City, AZ, USA   usa

I am new here but have done some of this on other cars.
I great tool to get body panels apart is the spot rivet cutter sold by Eastwood and others. It is kind of like a hollow drill bit with a spring loaded center. It will make a circular cut around a spot rivet allowing the panels to separate nicely.
If you have bad rust, I would suggest getting the replacement panels in hand first so you can see where to work on the dissection at.
Good luck!
P P
O, Ontario, Canada   can
1967 MG MGB GT "Maggie (GT From Hell)"

The rocker panel is attached with a bunch of dot-like welds called "spot welds"; figure about every inch or so. You will see them as a slight depresion in the panels. You need to cut through these with someting that has a diameter as big as the "spot" leaving the bottom sheet of metal intact.

I like to use a sheet metal drill bit. If you are handy with the bench grinder and sharpening your own bits, you can make your own. No need to grind the fancy little point in the tip, I use a 1/8" pilot hole on all spot welds that I drill out.
. You can hide this ad & support this site by upgrading to a Gold Membership ~ click here for more info

Attachments:
sheet metal.jpg (3.5 KB) –
sheet metal.jpg

techspecial Avatar
Mike Pankok
Pennsville NJ, USA   usa

Shore everythink up with wood wedged between all of the pillars
that you'll leave on before you start cutting!!! Take accurate