MG Midget Forum

Welcome! Sign In Register
Please Sign In or Register to Search

Fan clutch operation

Posted by richie87 
Richard Larson
Bend, Oregon, USA   usa

I just bought a 79 Midget 1500 with 26,100 actual miles. Fan clutch seems very tight... solidly tight, actually... and runs at start up and all the time even when it heats up. Is this normal? Probably not. Does that indicate the fan clutch assembly entirely needs to be replaced? Also the vehicle is running "rich". I have little experience with that kind of carburetor... is adjusting the mixture fairly easy to do? Thanks and will appreciate any help or advice people can offer.

-Richard
. You can hide this ad & support this site by upgrading to a Gold Membership ~ click here for more info
7mg2 Avatar
Andrew Hardie
Calgary, Alberta, Canada   can
1969 MG MGC GT "Mr "C""
1972 MG Midget

Don't have any experience with the 1500, but yes your fan clutch is toast.
You do not mention if you have stock or modified carburation, so can't help there. Shouldn't be tough to lean things out a bit though no matter what you have.

Andy

NAMGBR# 20-7738
AMGCRA# 1678
mg man 75 Avatar
maurice sallee
Campbellsville, Central Kentucky, USA   usa

I agree. I have the stock stromberg carb takes a special tool to adjust mixture. The diaphram may be torn or bad. You said new to these. If stromberg has a cap at top. Remove it and add a little motor oil. That what makes it slide up and down. If already know this. I apologize for taking it that simple. It just took me a long time when got my first Midget till I knew this. Stromberg is stock. Can see it in my video under hood of my car. Welcome and get us some pictures. Maurice
http://s177.photobucket.com/albums/w224/mgman75/?action=view&current=100_6458.flv
. You can hide this ad & support this site by upgrading to a Gold Membership ~ click here for more info
Richard Larson
Bend, Oregon, USA   usa