AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

A on a shoe string Avatar
A on a shoe string Peter Stevenson
Aubusson d'Auvergne, Auvergne, France   FRA
1960 MG MGA 1600 "A"
1972 MG Midget MkIII "Midget"
...just wondering what peoples favourite head gear is when driving with the roof down. I've been driving my Midget for about 40 years, the present project is an MGA which I'm looking forward to driving again but I think the noise of driving roofless is partly to blame for a bit of hearing loss and tinnitus (continuous high pitched whistle in the ears - and I mean continuous). You must have noticed just how loud the radio needs to be when travelling at anything over 40 mph.

Rather (too) late in the day I'm looking more closely at headgear to replace the trusty baseball cap for something that covers the ears. Ideally something with a decent peak (Midgets don't have sun visors), doesn't blow off, covers the ears to protect them from wind buffeting... and has some style. I'm not that keen on flying helmets (no peak, too ostentatious).

For you younger MG Experience folk out there who have your hearing 100% intact, I recommend you give this some thought. Once a bit of hearing is lost - it ain't coming back. If you get tinnitus - it ain't going away.

Pete

PS Avoid driving on motorways (or whatever the US equivalent is) roofless. The noise levels are dangerous and it's not even fun.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
ozieagle Avatar
ozieagle Gold Member Herb Adler
Geelong Victoria, Australia   AUS
1958 Wolseley 1500 "Wooly"
1966 MG MGB "Bl**dy B"
Here's what I wear, not the most elegant.

Or, since you are in France, how about a Foreign Legion hat?

Herb

edited to add link to eBay Foreign Legion cap.

http://www.ebay.com/bhp/foreign-legion-hat

Questions about prostate cancer? Click here to join the discussion

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2017-11-26 01:59 PM by ozieagle.

Attachments:
Hat.jpg    57.9 KB