AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Fuel Pump?
  This topic is about my 1960 MG MGA 1600
hursst Chris L
Woodbridge, VA, USA   USA
Hello,
I'm beginning reassembly on my '60 1600 restoration and I had a question about the fuel pump. Please see attached photo. This fuel pump looks nothing like any MGA fuel pump I've seen in the books or manuals. Can anyone identify it as original or aftermarket or ???? I'm assuming it is aftermarket. I'm not an MGA expert and still learning a lot about the car as I go along with the restoration, but this one has me a little perplexed. Thanks in advance.

-Chris

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
100_4023.JPG    95.7 KB
100_4023.JPG

Spitfire Dave Avatar
Spitfire Dave Dave B
Denver, Colorado, USA   USA
I can't tell you what that is, but it doesn't look anything like the original SU pump I pulled out of my '60 1600.

Dave
1960 MGA 1600

copernicus Avatar
copernicus Nick Kopernik
Redding, CT, USA   USA
I don't even think that its an aftermarket unit for an MGA; probably just a PO's attempt to keep the car running with whatever parts they had access to.

Are there any markings on this pump; perhaps on the brass end? Looks like the brass end cap may twist off; anything inside there to i.d. the manufacturer?

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
hursst Chris L
Here's one more photo, with the fuel pump as found during disassembly. Again, nothing like I've seen on any other MGAs, but seems like a lot of trouble to replace the original with this unit and the different fuel line attachment points. I'd still assume it's aftermarket, but wanted to ask the experts before I replace it with the SU style one that I would expect.

Attachments:
100_3251.JPG    63.6 KB
100_3251.JPG

hursst Chris L
Nick,