MGB & GT Forum

Please Sign In or Register to Search

Suspension Improvements

Posted by rad23 
Gary Radwanski
Lake Zurich,IL, USA   usa

I'm new to this so please bear with me if I use improper vernacular! I've recently purchased a 77 MGB and I'm trying to determine what can be done to improve the handling, sway, etc. The car has no shocks but I see that install kits are available.
Would like to know what has worked for other, what has not. Is adding shock absorbers worth the effort or should I focus on upgrading the front and/or rear springs?

Thanks.

Attachments:
image037.jpg    4.6 KB
image037.jpg

chris Avatar
Chris Roop
Pendleton, OR, USA   usa

If you don't have front shocks, your car is on the ground, not drivable. MGBs use a lever action Armstrong shock that is quite excellent. If you're talking about converting to coil over shocks, those don't give you any improvement.
Welcome by the way!

Member Services:
Not just for MG parts. Quality new parts at 15% off of list. No sales tax in Oregon Check out the Vendor Market page.
Ralph Yingling Avatar
Monroe, WA, USA   usa
1973 MG MGB "Molly"

As Chris said you do have shocks, they are just not familar to you as they are a lever style.

Rebuilding all the bushings in my suspension did wonders for my handling, and the old ones were not visibly bad. Typically a winter project and not too tough with the printed instructions that are available. Shocks should be checked for leakage as part of this.

Ralph
'73, SUPERCHARGED! tubeless wire wheels, OD, Advaced Dist. recurved dist. w/Pertronix, de- smogged, ANSA

chris Avatar
Chris Roop
Pendleton, OR, USA   usa

And then you get into the debate about which bushings to use; prothane, nylatron, rubber v-8, etc.
Much of that is dependent on your plan for the car.

Member Services:
Not just for MG parts. Quality new parts at 15% off of list. No sales tax in Oregon Check out the Vendor Market page.
Gary Radwanski