Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

SonnyK Sonny K
Derby, VT, USA   USA
1976 MG MGB
So i started painting my B and I actually painted the whole car a couple of weeks ago. So it has a base coat of the color red I want. I sanded out dirt and got it ready to paint 3rd coat. Today I did the rear quarter panels and trunk lid. This is my first time painting a car so I'm taking it slow, doing a little at a time. Anyway, It's certainly not close to a professional paint job but in all honestly it don't look to bad. I'm painting in my (enclosed) garage and I only do a litt at a time because of the fumes. That said even after cleaning and using a tack rag and being very careful to do it right, I still got specks of dirt in the paint. I plan on clear coating it. My question is, now as I mentioned that there are specks of dirt in the paint. Not a lot but enough to see and feel. Should I clear coat then wet sand of wet sand then clear coat? I pretty sure I should wet sand first then clear coat then polish and buff. Any suggestions? What grit should I use for wet sanding? Appreciate any feedback. I'm just a backyard painter, no experience, but doing the best I can. Now when i bought the car, it was full of dings, scratches, (some really deep) some dents and faded paint. I only removed the bumpers, badges, trim and the interior. I was just hoping to make it a little nicer looking. This is not a restoration by any means.

Thanks
Sonny

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2018-02-13 06:04 PM by SonnyK.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
20180210_200825.jpg    36.6 KB
20180210_200825.jpg

2455 Avatar
2455 Bill Rogers
ocklawaha, FL, USA   USA
The dust and dirt you'r talking about may be over spray and yes after you clear coat it you will need to water sand and buff