Picking up my first MGB today!

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Aetticus Bradley Doern
Sacramento, CA, USA   USA
So I've decided to chase the rabbit down a hole; I bought my first MG, a 1980 'B, for three reasons...

I was looking for a small car that would get me to and from Portland, OR reliably; previous owner drove is cross country three years ago,
It was a convertible, and I'm new to California; never had a convertable because I lived where it rains 90% of the year,
And, the best reason, the thing looked like it was fun to drive.

I couldnt drive it home because the clutch master cyl was bad. Starts and runs though; I'm literally 20 minutes away from driving it home!

So the tech questions...

I'm replacing the clutch master and slave units; whats the best way to go about this? I'm assuming that the lower clutch master has to be accessed from under the dash?

Should I use dot 3 or 4? I'm down with using 5, but dont know if its necessary. I love to drive, so a firmer clutch pedal would be worth the extra cost.

Is there a restrictor I can take out in the line somewhere? I had a car that when I removed it, it was like night and day.

And finally, is the car put together with metric nuts and bolts? So far I think I've found all metric, but I want to be sure.

I'm really excited to learn and own a new car that is foreign to me. I've done muscle cars and JDM imports, but never Euro. Most of my MGB searched end up in this forum anyway. If I ask a question, I either cant find what I want specifically, or I want to generate a discussion about the topic. I love to learn my cars thoroughly, and maybe my question will teach me something more than the answer!

Thank you for the replies in advance!

Brad "Aetticus" Doern
1980 MGB, currently unmolested

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
00T0T_cA5MYQyWFPF_1200x900.jpg    37.4 KB
00T0T_cA5MYQyWFPF_1200x900.jpg