MGExp

MGB & GT Forum

New Member, 73 MGB Need help getting it running!

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Fairtax4me Scott Mahanes
The Big City, Virginia, USA   USA
Hello All! New member here and I've sort of inherited a project that I need a bit of help with. Haven't inherited the car, rather the task of fixing it!

This car has been sitting for near 10 years at this point. The owner of the car is the owner of the company I work for. Long story short, the previous mechanic that worked here "restored" the car about 12 years ago. Basically pulled it out of the woods, patched a couple rust spots, new interior and flap top, and sprayed it with a 10 foot paint job. It ran and was driven a few times, then was parked in the garage, carbs and spark plugs were removed, and has been that way ever since.

The owner has expressed some interest in having it back in driving condition. I'm a mechanic by nature, and I enjoy a challenge/project of this sort, but I don't enjoy trying to piece back together an engine that I've never seen before, and didn't take apart in the first place. Mostly what was missing was the carbs and linkages. They were in a box in the floor. I think I've managed to get them back into proper order on the engine (pic attached) and it would be awesome if any of you guys who knows these like the back of your hand could have a look at that and say "Yeah it looks right", or "no this piece goes here, there"... etc.