Please Sign In or Register to Search

Rod Bearing Replacement - 1975 MGB

Posted by SSGt Olivero 
SSGt Olivero Avatar
Eric Olivero
Montgomery, TX, USA   usa
1975 MG MGB "Julia"
1975 MG MGB

I have spent a lot of time reading postings in the MGB Forum and haven't found a thread on procedures for replacing rod bearings. I have discovered a lot of reasons why to do replace the bearings, but not so much on how. From what I understand, it is possible to replace the rod bearings and main bearing from under the engine. I have NEVER done this before, so I have a lot of questions and concerns before I start.

What I have done so far:
1) Removed the oil pan. Thanks for the postings on how to remove the front 4 bolts = PITA!
2) Removed the oil pump and cheked the lobe clearance, etc. The pump checks out good.
3) Gotten plenty of oil drips onto my face

Questions:
1) What Rod Bearing Set do I need for a 5 Main? (.010 / .020 / .030 / .040) How do I figure this out?
2) Do I also replace the Main Bearing? Size?
3) Will I need any special tools?
4) Are there any video postings that I can view to give me perspective and guidance?
5) Anything else I need to know?
. You can hide this ad & support this site by upgrading to a Gold Membership ~ click here for more info
balloonfoot Avatar
Lloyd Faust
Southlake, TEXAS, USA   usa
1967 MG MGB "MAX"
1985 Chevrolet Corvette "EASY 1ST"
1986 Chevrolet Corvette "Gas Mileage Special"
1989 Chevrolet Camaro ""I Rock""

take a rod cap off and read the bearing size on the back size. That is the size you need. Only special tool is a torque wrench to do up the nuts when you put the cap back on.

“Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt”.
- Abraham Lincoln